About Council

Home > About Council

Carrathool Shire Council operates from two offices, the main office is located in Goolgowi and a District Office is located in Hillston.

The Carrathool Shire Local Government area encompasses a total land area of about 19,000 square kilometres and has a population of approximately 2,587 people.

Located on the western plains of New South Wales, a predominantly rural area and is made up of the town of Hillston and the surrounding villages of Goolgowi, Merriwagga, Rankins Springs and Carrathool.

The Shire borders on Cobar, Lachlan, Central Darling, Murrumbidgee, Narrandera, Balranald, Bland and Hay Shires and the city of Griffith.