Councillors

The Councillors and their contact details are listed below, otherwise correspondence can be addressed to Council via the General Manager as follows:

The General Manager
PO Box 12
GOOLGOWI NSW 2652
Email: council@carrathool.nsw.gov.au

Ward A

Cr Darryl Jardine

Elected 2004
Mayor 2019-Current
Deputy Mayor 2009, 2011 – 2019
Cr Jardine is currently a Council delegate to the Lachlan Floodplain Management Committee, Police Accountability Community Team, Riverina and Murray Joint Organisation (RAMJO) and Western Division Group of Councils.
E djardine@carrathool.nsw.gov.au

Cr David Fensom

Elected 2008
Cr Fensom is currently a Council delegate to the Murray Darling Association, Lachlan Floodplain Management Committee and Hillston Billylids.
E dfensom@carrathool.nsw.gov.au

Cr Geoff Peters

Elected 2012
Cr Peters is currently a Council delegate to the Lachlan Floodplain Management Committee and Mallee Bush Fire Prevention Scheme.
E gpeters@carrathool.nsw.gov.au

Cr Julie Potter

Elected 2021
Cr Potter is currently a Council delegate to the Country Public Libraries Association, Western Riverina Community Library and Wallanthery Hall Committee.
E jpotter@carrathool.nsw.gov.au

Cr Heather Lyall

Elected 2021
Cr Lyall is currently a Council delegate to the South Wests Arts Project, Kidman Way Promotional Committee & Outback Regional Tourism Organisation.
E hlyall@carrathool.nsw.gov.au

Ward B

Cr Beverley Furner

Elected 2016
Cr Furner is currently a Council delegate to the Goolgowi Hall Management Committee, Carrathool Memorial Hall & Sports Ground Managment Committee.
E bfurner@carrathool.nsw.gov.au

Cr Michael Armstrong

Elected 2012
Cr Armstrong is currently a Council delegate to the Merriwagga Public Hall Management Committee and Traffic & Development Committee.
E marmstrong@carrathool.nsw.gov.au,

Cr Bill Kite

Elected 2004
Cr Kite is currently a Council delegate to the Rankins Springs War Memorial Hall Management Committee & Rankins Springs Recreation Group Management Committee.
E bkite@carrathool.nsw.gov.au

Cr Leon Cashmere

Elected 2021
E lcashmere@carrathool.nsw.gov.au

Cr Damon Liddicoat

Elected 2021
E dliddicoat@carrathool.nsw.gov.au

The Role of Mayor & Councillors

Councillors are empowered to exercise direction and control when allocating the Council’s resources during the four year Delivery Program preparation. They also play a key role in the creation and review of the Council’s policies and objectives and the criteria relating to the exercises of the Council’s regulatory functions.

The role of a Councillor is, as a member of the governing body of the Council:
  • To direct and control the affairs of the Council in accordance with the Local Government Act 1993;
  • To participate in the optimum allocation of the Council’s resources for the benefit of the area;
  • To play a key role in the creation and review of the Council’s policies and objectives and criteria relating to the exercise of Council’s regulatory functions;
  • To review the performance of the Council and its delivery of services in relation to Council’s Community Strategic Plan, Delivery Program, Operational Plan and revenue policies.
The role of a Councillor is, as an elected person:
  • To represent the interests of the residents and ratepayers
  • To provide leadership and guidance to the community
  • To facilitate communication between the community and the Council

The Mayor is elected by the Councillors as the Civic Leader and acts as a public spokesperson on matters of policy. The Mayor is also the link between Council and Management and plays a general supervisory role over the operations of the Council.
Under the Local Government Act, the Mayor:

  • Exercises the functions of Council
  • Chairs meetings
  • Carries out civic and ceremonial functions.
Thinking of becoming a councillor? – A guide for candidates in NSW